Assuming oneself as black doesn’t deny miscegenation – Assumir-se como negro como negro/a não nega miscigenação

Assuming oneself as black doesn’t deny miscegenation.

I often hear biracial people of African descent say that to define themselves as simply black is a denial of the existence of the their non-black parent. I disagree. Millions of persons of African descent have significant genetic contribution from non-black ancestors. In this world, the society itself defines how are people are accepted. A person could have non-African ancestry, but if the world sees that person as non-white, that person will defined as non-white.Recently, actress Sophina Brown affirmed this assessment. In an interview with EBONY magazine, Brown, who is biracial, was asked if she defined herself as a black woman. Brown replied:

“Yes, I do…I have always seen myself as a black woman because that’s how the world sees me. But I do have pride in being biracial as well. In no way am I trying to put down my German heritage or my mother. She’s one of my heroes.”

Assumir-se como negro como negro/a não nega miscigenação.

Eu ouvi muitas vezes pessoas biraciais de ascendência africana dizem que se definir como simplesmente negro/a é uma negação da existência do seu pai não-negros. Eu discordo. Milhões de pessoas de ascendência africana tem contribuição genética significativa dos seus antepassados não-negros. Neste mundo, a própria sociedade define como as pessoas são aceitas. Uma pessoa poderia ter ascendência não-africana, mas se o mundo essa vê a pessoa como não-branca, essa pessoa será definido como não-branca. Recentemente, a atriz Sophina Brown afirmou nesta avaliação. Em uma entrevista com a revista Ebony, Brown, que é biracial, foi perguntado se ela se definiu como uma mulher negra. Brown respondeu:

“Sim, eu me defino…Eu sempre me vi como uma mulher negra porque esse é o modo como o mundo me vê. Mas eu tenho orgulho em ser biracial também. De maneira nenhuma eu estou tentando negar a minha herança alemão ou a minha mãe. Ela é um dos meus heróis.”

Leave a Reply

