São Paulo, November 2008/São Paulo, novembro 2008

Hello people,
After more than one month of inactivity, I decided it was time to return to my blog. I returned to Brazil last November. This trip was the shortest amount of time I’ve ever spent in Brazil but it was also the most intense. I met so many incredible people on this trip; a trip spent entirely in São Paulo. After having visited Bahia so many times, I knew it was finally time to connect with the people of Brazil’s biggest city. Whenever I visit Brazil, I always arrive in São Paulo first and then catch a connection flight to my final destination. Before this year, the longest I had ever spent in São Paulo was less than two days. But there were several reasons that I knew I would eventually need to spend time in São Paulo. The first was the Gallery located on 24th of May street. When I went there in 2003, I was amazed by all of the music stores, clothing stores, hair salons and barber shops devoted specifically to the Afro-Brazilian population. The influence of Hip Hop was obvious there. It’s funny; when I walked through that Gallery that first time in 2003, it seemed as if black Brazilians knew I was American. As I walked around and went up the escalators, people in the music stores and barber shops waved and nodded at me as if to say “Welcome, brother”. Was I imaging this? Well, it took 5 years for me to return and investigate, but I can say that I definitely didn’t imagine anything! I will elaborate more on this in the future. But for now, let me say THANK YOU to the Paulistas of the Black Movement and Hip Hop Movement. Because of you, my trip to São Paulo in 2008 will always be very memorable!
Olá gente,
Depois de mais de um mês de inatividade, eu decidi que era a hora de voltar para o meu blog. Voltei ao Brasil em novembro passado. Esta viagem foi a menor quantidade de tempo que eu já passei no Brasil, mas foi também o mais intenso. Conheci tanta gente nessa viagem incrível, uma viagem que eu passei inteiramente em São Paulo. Depois de ter visitado Bahia tantas vezes, eu sabia que a hora finalmente chegou para me conectar com as pessoas da maior cidade do Brasil. Quando eu visito Brasil, eu chegar em São Paulo em primeiro lugar e, em seguida, pegar um vôo de ligação para a minha ao destino final. Antes deste ano, a mais tempo que eu já passei em São Paulo foi de menos do que dois dias. Mas havia várias razões que eu sabia que eu ia precisar de passar tempo em São Paulo. A primeira foi a Galeria localizada na Rua 24 de maio. Quando fui lá em 2003, fiquei assombrado de ver tantos lojas de música, lojas de roupas, barbearias e salões dedicados especificamente à população afro-brasileira. A influência do Hip Hop foi evidente lá. Eu me lembro quando eu caminhava por aquela Galeria pela primeira vez em 2003, era como se negros brasileiros sabia que eu fui americano. Como eu caminhava por aí e subiu as escada rolante, as pessoas nas lojas de música e barbearias cumprimentou com a cabeça e abanou para mim como se dizer “Bem-vindo, irmão”. Eu estava imaginando coisas? Bem, ele me levou 5 anos de voltar e investigar, mas posso dizer que eu definitivamente não imaginei de nada! Vou elaborar mais sobre esse assunto no futuro. Mas, por agora, deixe-me dizer MUITO OBRIGADO ao Paulistas do Movimento Negro eo Movimento Hip Hop. Por causa de vocês, a minha viagem para São Paulo em 2008 vai sempre ser muito memorável!

Leave a Reply

